[Gallery] Internet Archaeology: Anatomical Origins

All images, artwork, and photography © Viktor Deak 2013

Source: http://www.anatomicalorigins.com (Defunct)
Artist: Viktor Deak
Species: Homo ergaster, Homo neanderthalensis, Homo heidelbergensis, Australopithecus afarensis
Specimens: KNM-ER 3733, La Ferrassie 1, Atapuerca 5, A.L. 288-1

Once upon a time, perhaps over a decade ago, I came across the site of what would become perhaps my favorite paleoartist for many years, Viktor Deak, and found myself fascinated with the quality of his work. Having already seen examples of his art in magazines, I’d purchased his book and eventually sought out more.

Unfortunately, his website is presently defunct, having been revised several times before finally falling off the face of the internet sometime in 2015. Much of the earlier material is simply lost to time, though even the latest is hardly readily accessible.

So to the end of resolving this tragedy, to the best of my abilities, I have taken it upon myself to compile what I’ve been able to collect from the far flung corners of the web. What you see here is but an appetizer of the full-course meal I have prepared, mere leftover scraps I have no other place to put.

Indeed, finding a way to display such lost images was the major impetus behind the creation of this blog, and there are quite a few other sites I intend to build something of an archive for. For the moment, however, much of that remains well in the future.

Still, I hope you will enjoy these while you wait. I’ll be picking up the pace shortly.

—The Curator.